Garden of the World

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

You take me into the garden of the world, my darling!
You guide my fingers, point to the laughing flowers and the half-ripened smiling blossoms.
You bend my stiff head to kiss the lonely, hidden, sweet-smelling scent.You stroke my longing cheek, gently, softly, with the velvet leaves.I am surprised, astonished, struck dumb.
You whisper: “Garden of Paradise, Garden of Paradise
Made like mother-of-pearl.”
Then you disappear.
I am as dazed as a madman.

Poem by Taman Dunia
Translated by Burton Raffel and Nurdin Salam

Pictures from Bali, Indonesia

Leave a Reply

