Amiens

DSC_0049-001The first time I started to go up an down alone by car across the French country, I drove to Amiens. I made there my first pictures; they were the first ones ever posted on my blog. This was three years ago.

Since then, I had been constantly travelling, taking pictures and posting them by the thousands, sometimes commenting them and sometimes  finding the  right poem or the right quote that went with the picture and the moment’s mood. I went through the experience with a fine-tooth comb,  until the blog was suddenly shut down by its hosting website. This was a couple of months ago.

When this happened, I was visiting Amiens again. For me, this was a sign. The blog was ending at the same spot where it started.  I had come a full circle. It was time to move on.

Quickly, I felt trapped. Trapped between the desire to start something new and completely different and the nostalgia of that on-line travelling diary. I did not want the memory of this long-drawn-out job to be erased overnight and I did not have a clear idea yet of what new thing I could start.

That’s how I started this blog. Broodingly at first. But enthusiasm quickly took over : What If I revisited the same places again and compared impressions, pictures and experiences?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I posted (above) my latest pictures of Amiens. Though we were drawing close to the end of March, it was still bitterly cold outside. A walk in town and at the “Hortillonages” of Amiens, was rendered tiresome by the freezing weather. I was afraid colours would be faded out by the dullness that surrounded us. And as I was posting the pictures, my fingers went numb at the memory of that cold cold day.

To my surprise, the pictures combined a pastel texture with a metallic touch. Strongly contrasting with the pictures I took in July three years ago (below).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

