You will always have your flowers, Mr. Monet

IMG_6394

As I mentioned in an earlier post, I was just waiting for a sunny day to return to Giverny to make a new set of pictures. Except that Miss Sun, continued like an indefatigable child to play her clever hide-and-seek game, shining when I was at work, and hiding over the weekends. Today, I lost patience with her childish stance. I hopped into the car and drove to Giverny without paying heed to her anymore. It was lightly raining but “Tant pis !”

Tant pis?”  Not at all. It was rather “Tant mieux” !  As I got there – and after a stroll in the Musée des Impressionistes to drink in Signac’s colors of water – I was taken aback by the rain’s effect on Monet’s garden. The colors were intense and flowers were dressed up in all their finery, scintillating droplets adding the finishing touches.

After a shower of Signac’s colorful waters, Monet’s dewy garden came as a sweet-scented smorgasbord for the senses.

This is how I spent a wonderful unsunny afternoon.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 thoughts on “You will always have your flowers, Mr. Monet

  1. Monet is one of my favorite artists, and I made my own Laurel’s garden of flowers that reminds me of his. I have lots of Japanese and delicate Asian dwarf plants because my room is limiting. I suppose this love of gardens has run into my love of painting because I love to paint and photograph gardens. I adore the Asian red bridges that grace gardens. In studying bridges like these I find the assortment amazing, with one bridge almost making a complete circle! Yes, I painted one of these fancy bridges in one of my paintings some time back.

Leave a Reply

