The hidden marvels of the Parc de Saint-Cloud

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It was one of these evenings of July, after a long day at work, when the weather was still OK and there was daylight way after 10 pm, that I took my umpteenth stroll to the Parc de Saint-Cloud. I’ve known and visited the Parc many many times for the last 20 years and I was sure I knew the place by heart. I mean I thought I knew the place by heart…

Last week I went there again, as usual to oxygenate my lungs and neurons. I found myself making my way up a narrow stony stairway that I had never taken before. As I pushed a green gate, I stepped into a new place, unknown to me up till then. Wow!!!

It felt like I was parachuted onto a huxelian island, a utopia of cedars and magnolias with a translucent lake summoning a tribe of geese to take a fresh dip and a bird cacophony mingling with the exotic scent of flowers to create confusion among the senses. It was an out-of-the-way place you would take a long courier flight to visit, at a walking distance from home. Opposite the majestic centenary cedars, the Eiffel Tower stood visible on the horizon.

The photos here are too silent and too scentless, but maybe they do convey the place’s dignified allure?

Leave a Reply

